Breakfast for Dinner?

As a kid I always loved having breakfast food for dinner. I always thought it was special and fun. My father worked the night shift so when i visited him, his breakfast was my dinner. He would always whip me up scrambled egg whites and whole wheat toast. (health nut and exercise enthusiast) I remember that he always added a little ketchup on top of his eggs. I always thought this was weird but if you think about, egg whites do not have a lot of flavor. Sometimes I catch myself adding ketchup to my eggs here or there and it reminds me of our late night breakfasts.

In college it was cheap and easy to scramble up some eggs or eat cereal for every meal. Now that I am out of school, I think my breakfast dinners should be slightly more refine but still cheap, fast and easy.

I stumbled across great flavorful sausage and grits recipe. This recipe was slightly adapted from Cooking light 2008.

McKenna’s cheesy grits with breakfast sausage and spinach.

1 package reduced fat Jimmy Dean’s breakfast sausage

1 small onion chopped

1/2 green bell pepper chopped

1 bad spinach

Pinch of salt
Dash of pepper
Dash of red pepper flakes
Sprinkle of nutmeg

1/2 cup of instant grits

1 cup 1% organic milk

1 cup reduced sodium organic chicken broth (or water)

Start by browning the sausage. After most of the sausage is fully cooked, add onions and green pepper. Cook until tender. Pinch of salt/ dash of pepper.

Add the bag of spinach to the pan. This might look like a lot but it wilts down. This took me a few batches to get all of the greens in. Sprinkle with nutmeg.

Bring the milk/ chicken broth to a boil and add the grits. Stir to incorporate. Reduce heat and lightly summer for five minutes.

Stir in reduced fat cheddar cheese to the grits.

Layer the sausage mixture on top of the grits. I would suggest adding a fried egg on top of the sausage mixture! I would have but hey it was Monday night and I was lazy 😉

Enjoy!
McKenna

This entry was posted in Quick and Easy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

