Cool Coffee Latte

I wanted to start McKennaCooks with a new fresh post. It has taken me quite some time to sit down and actually write. I’ve spent many hours reading my favorite blogs and cookbooks trying to recreate these great dishes. I find myself sharing these recipes with my family and friends all the time so I thought, what a better way to share these great food finds then posting them on a new blog.

Earlier this week we had a farewell breakfast at work for one of our co-workers and good friend Cassie. Although she is moving on to greater and better things in NYC, she will be missed in Jacksonville. Since I knew there would be plenty of food, (we ate all day) I decided to bring “Cool Coffee Latte”. This drink takes some easy preparation and planning but the outcome is a great summer coffee drink.

Source

Cool Coffee  Latte

From CookingLight 2008

1 3/4 cups medium roast coffee ( I used Caribou signature blend)

5 cups of cold water

4 1/2 cups 1% organic milk

1/2 cup fat free sweet and condensed milk

1 vanilla bean

Start by adding the coffee grinds and the cold water to a large bowl. Mix to saturate the coffee. Cover and refrigerate for 8 hours.

Heat both the milks over medium heat. Scrape the vanilla bean and add both the vanilla bean and the seeds to the milks. Heat for about 8 minutes but do not simmer. You just want the mixture the heat through. Cool and refrigerate for 8 hours.

In the morning, strain the coffee mixture through a cheese cloth. You should be left with about 3 cups of coffee concentrate. Remove the vanilla bean from the milk and add the the coffee concentrate.

Note: You can easily double this recipe for  larger crowd (which I did). If you are entertaining on the weekend Kahlua or Bailey’s would an awesome way to help start the day.

Enjoy!

McKenna

This entry was posted in Drinks. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cool Coffee Latte

  1. Constantine says:

    I was wondering…

  2. Natalie says:

    Can’t wait to make a batch of this. I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts!

Leave a Reply

