Easy Red Beans and Rice

I think I have found a new favorite go to week night recipe! For a few weeks now I have been craving red beans and rice with a nice spicy Cajun flare and boy did this satisfy my craving. This meal took me a max of 30 minutes to complete and it was full of flavor.  I worked in a Cajun restaurant a couple years back and I never craved red beans and rice but I for some reason recently I absolutely needed it. I lucked out when the turkey kielbasa was on sale and I just found a coupon in the mail today for it again…must be fate.

A healthy and fast McKenna version of red beans and rice with turkey Kielbasa

(No extra oil or salt)

1 Turkey Kielbasa cut on a diagnol

1/2 cup chopped onion

1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper

1 can original Rotel (diced tomatoes with green chilies)

1 tbl brown sugar

1 tsp thyme

1 tsp oregano

1 bay leaf

1 tsp paprika

1 can red kidney beans with half of the liquid from the can

2 bags of white boil in a bag rice or instant rice

Corn Starch or Wondra

Start by slicing the kielbasa and add to a heated non stick pan sprayed with a little Pam.

Chop onions and bell peppers and add to pan after the kielbasa has a nice brown (about 5 min)

Then add the can of Rotel and heat through. If you don’t like the heat, add a can of regular diced tomatoes. I wanted the heat but I still wanted to taste all of the great flavors so I added a tablespoon of brown sugar. This is completely optional but I thought it was a nice complement and balanced out the heat.

Add the seasoning (Thyme, Oregano, Paprika) and the can of beans and lightly simmer.

Add the rice to boiling water and cook for 10 minutes (its usually 10 min rice but follow the directions of the rice you are using)

When you put the rice in, sprinkle the sausage/bean mixture with the corn starch or Wondra to thicken up. (stir and add to you desire of thickness)

Everything should be done around the same time.

Place the rice on the bottom of the plate and top with sausage and beans!!!!! MMMmm I enjoyed :)

I hope you make this soon!!!

Enjoy

McKenna

This entry was posted in Quick and Easy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

